Give Your Summer Skin the One Two Punch

FullSizeRender (7)

#tbt to the last time I was sun burned, circa May 2014. I’m the bozo on the right with the hot pink nose.

Ah, summer…the days of soaking up the sun by day and then wishing you hadn’t by night. If you’re anything like me, you have a mild anxiety at all times re: Earth’s Nearest Star. Besides the fact that sleeping with a sunburn feels like sleeping in a hot cocoon filled with ten thousand needles, scientists have proven that the sun is just no damn good for our skin. Sun damage is the number one cause of premature aging of the skin. UVA and UVB rays damage the layers of the epidermis even when you don’t wind up burnt to a crisp.

Do you wear a sunscreen every day? If the answer is no, I will keep hounding you about it on repeat until you do. Every person, man woman and child, needs to wear a daily SPF on any part of your body that will come in contact with the sun.

If you want to age gracefully and decrease your risk of skin cancer, SPF needs to be your new BFF.

My vast and varied sensory issues have made me quite picky about sunscreens. Perhaps that’s why I spent many childhood days fighting with my mom about SPF and many childhood nights crying about the torture of sleeping with crispy skin. But after testing dozens of facial sunscreens over the years, I’ve finally found a holy grail. Everyone, meet the Australian Gold Mineral Botanical Sunscreen for Face, SPF 50. This gem is no joke! It goes on smoothly, dries quickly, sits perfectly under makeup, doesn’t clog your pores, and it’s tinted so you can avoid that weird white cast! One tube lasts me over two months. Also, bonus points for the adorable packaging. (#fonts)

This is by far the best daily sunscreen I have ever found for my face. Even if your makeup claims to have SPF in it, you need to layer this bad boy under it. Sunscreen should always be the last layer of your skin care before you apply your makeup. If you have oily skin, you might be able to skip the moisturizer and just use this tinted SPF…that’s what I do. Also, follow the advice of my dermatologist – liberally apply 1/2 of a teaspoon on your face+neck in order to get the full effect of the SPF. That’s more volume than you think and probably more than you are used to applying. (Applying less than that means you’ll be lowering the effectiveness of the SPF.)

Side Note: I don’t have strong opinions about body sunscreen. Basically just get one you like that smells nice and is SPF 30 or above. Make sure it says broad spectrum on the label. 

IMG_4792

Pro Tip: both the sunscreen and the tan towelettes are sold at Ulta and are often on BOGO. Wait until you see a sale and get more bang for your buck!

Okay, so now you’re probably thinking, but I want to have a summery glow to my skin! How will I do that if I’m constantly covered head-to-toe in SPF? Well, I have a solution for that, too! The L’Oreal Sublime Bronze Self-Tanning Towelettes are a quick, easy, and convenient way to self-tan your bod so you get the bronze-goddess look you’ve always dreamed of. Each box comes with 6 single-use towelettes. Two nights before a big (or small) event, I exfoliate my skin with a body scrub and then apply one towelette to my body. I let it dry, then go to sleep (it won’t discolor your sheets unless you rush the drying process). I repeat that process again the next night. By the day of the event, I’m all bronzed up and ready to go! The tan lasts about 5 days or so and can be easily maintained by applying another towelette once the color starts to fade. The towelettes are SO much more convenient than at-home creams or foams and so much cheaper than spray tans at the salon. I can’t recommend them enough!

I hope these two tips help you maximize your summer fun while looking your best and protecting your skin. Now, anyone wanna pool it up or patio hop with me next weekend? #safetyfirst

Leave a Reply

