What’s in a Name?

If you have a blog or know a blogger, you know that coming up with a catchy blog name can be tedious, stressful, and downright impossible. I read about 1.5 million tips on how to name a blog, most of which only added to my level of anxiety over making a decision. I knew I wanted it to be tied to myself and my content, but “Laura Ferdinandt’s Beauty and Lifestyle Blog” didn’t really roll off the tongue. Here were some other front runners:

  • BeeYouTiFul (people would constantly spell that wrong)
  • Listen To Meeeee! (I mean, that one’s kinda good)
  • Laura Loves Lovely Looks (no way. that one is terrible)

Clearly, I wasn’t really coming up with Grade A titles. If you take a good look at my life, I haven’t been very good at naming most anything important to me. My first car was a small black sedan named “Little Black”. I named two of my favorite stuffed animals from my childhood “Hound Dog” and “Clown”. Any guesses as to what type of stuffed animals they were? #mystery #CIAlevel

IMG_9876

Pictured (left to right): Clown. Hound Dog.          Not Pictured: Brown Bear.

After much deliberation, I finally settled on Secrets from September. Why, you ask? Well, I was born in September and I like sharing secrets. Beauty secrets, to be exact. And everyone loves a little alliteration, or at least that’s what all of those blog tips told me.

This title may not be the easiest URL to type into a search bar (www.nordstrom.com was already taken, dammit). It may not provide a punny hint as to the contents of my blog. It may not evoke feelings of euphoria in everyone who reads it. But let’s all just be thankful that I didn’t name it “Blog.”

One thought on “What’s in a Name?

Leave a Reply

